The Trinity Business Alumni/Bank of Ireland Business Student of the year is a competition open to 4th year business students, coordinated by the Trinity Business Alumni (TBA) in association with the Trinity College School of Business and Bank of Ireland. Finalists are short-listed from nominations received by staff and students of the College. The award is presented annually to the student who not only excels academically but has acquitted themselves well in business, voluntary work and/or the college community. The Business Student of the Year 2017 is Benn Hogan.



2017 Trinity Business Student of the Year: Benn Hogan

Benn Hogan is a final year student in Business & Law Student in Trinity Business School. He received the award for his outstanding academic achievements and contribution to University life. A passionate supporter of the Irish language, he was this year’s Director of Jailbreak 2017, a charity event founded in Trinity five years ago. Under his direction, this year the event was transformed; as in previous years, it focused on charity but with the help of An Cumann Gaelach, it also became a language activism event. Benn also contributed to campus life as Chairperson of the Central Societies Committee, the Trinity body charged with regulating, supporting and funding Trinity societies.



Previous Winners of the Trinity Business Student of the Year

Year Winner
2016 Conor O’Meara
2015 Ben Butler
2014 Jill Pierse
2013 Iseult Ward
2012 Patrick Lynch
2011 Daniel Philbin Bowman
2010 Conor O’Toole
2009 Brian Martin
2008 David Quinn
2007 Laura Gibson
2006 Graham Villiers Tuthill
2005 Rachel Wallace
2004 Alan Foy
2003 Thomas Stafford
2002 Dylan Collins
2001 Ray O’Faircheallaigh
2000 Niamh MacDonagh
1999 Mary McGuinness
1998 S Byrne
1997 G Fitzpatrick
1996 B O’Toole
1995 P Scully