2017 Business Student of the Year Award

posted in: Interviews, Recent News | 0

2017 Business Student of the Year Award – Benn Hogan

The winner of the 2017 Trinity Business Student of the Year was announced as Business and Law student Benn Hogan on the evening of Thursday, April 6th. Benn received this award for his outstanding academic achievements and contribution to University life. The ceremony was held at the beautiful House of Lords, Bank of Ireland on College Green. Benn is passionate about the Irish language and was this year’s Director of Jailbreak 2017, a charity event founded in Trinity five years ago. This year the event was transformed from not only focusing on charity but, with the help of An Cumann Gaelach, it became a language activism event too. Benn also contributed to campus life as Chairperson of the Central Societies Committee, the Trinity body charged with regulating, supporting and funding Trinity societies.

Benn was presented with the gold medal by the Bursar, Veronica Campbell (on behalf of the Provost), Richie Boucher and Wendy Hederman, incoming President of the Trinity Business Alumni. This annual competition is open to all final year business students and is sponsored by Bank of Ireland in conjunction with the Trinity Business Alumni. Students nominated for this award are those who have distinguished themselves academically whilst at the same time contributing to Trinity College or the wider community, through involvement in extra-curricular activities. Other nominees this year included Éire Smith, Conor Hughes, Eleanor O’Brien, PJ McGrane and Laura Brennan and award presenter Wendy Hederman remarked on the quality of the candidates and the value that their contributions have made to the Trinity community.

You can view a short video with Benn Hogan, Trinity Business Student of the Year 2017 here.

Previous Winners of the Trinity Business Student of the Year

Year  Winner

2016 Conor O’Meara

2015 Ben Butler

2014 Jill Pierse

2013 Iseult Ward

2012 Patrick Lynch

2011 Daniel Philbin Bowman

2010 Conor O’Toole

2009 Brian Martin

2008 David Quinn

2007 Laura Gibson

2006 Graham Villiers-Tuthill

2005 Rachel Wallace

2004 Alan Foy

2003 Thomas Stafford

2002 Dylan Collins

2001 Ray O’Faircheallaigh

2000 Niamh MacDonagh

1999 Mary McGuinness

1998 S Byrne

1997 G Fitzpatrick

1996 B O’Toole

1995 P Scully